WhatsApp rolled out this feature last year to enable its users delete messages mistakenly sent to wrong contacts or group before they read them. Users can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending.
However, if within these seven minutes, that message is quoted then the original message will successfully disappear but the deleted text continues to show in the recipient’s quote.
Strangely, there is no mention of how the feature functions in instances of quotes in the WhatsApp’s FAQ.
If someone has quoted your message on WhatsApp before you delete it, you will still be able to see that message — rendering the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature ineffective, a media report said. It said that this is not a bug and is a part of the feature.
Be sure to share this article with friends and do leave a comment below.